The sun is out, it’s a beautiful day. I’m warm. I’m smiling.

Fuscia in MayIsn’t it great when you wake up and the sun is streaming in through the curtains and making sparkly patterns on the wall beside your bed? Makes it so much easier to get up and get out in the fresh air. After one of the wettest winters in the UK for decades with record flooding and other associated misery, May has burst into life and everything is growing like fury. Even my hardy fuchsia, which is usually still struggling to open it leaves by now, is already laden with its pink ballerinas.

Officially it’s still spring in the UK but the flowers and wildlife are raring to go and bursting into action. We have a resident, somewhat mangy fox which makes an early morning appearance in our garden most days. She – I think it’s a vixen – is getting closer and closer to the house, and although she runs away quickly when you tap the window, we are now more cautious than ever about leaving the doors open. I like to see her in the garden; I don’t want to see her in my sitting room.

I am enjoying the long days, the early morning light, the late daylight. It’s such a treat after so many dismal, dark, wet months. The sunlight and the warmth lift my mood, make me smile. I am not a winter person; I need to hibernate from October to March.

May and June are the best months of the year – if it doesn’t rain too much.

It’s five weeks today until the summer solstice then, if the weather is good – fingers crossed – it will still be daylight here at ten pm. Magic. Those of you who’ve read my books or stories will know what an influence the weather exerts on my writing and what a significant part the solstice plays.

Have a great day – may the sun always shine – but not burn.

About cjmorrow13

I love to write about everyday life as though viewed side on - I like to catch the object which moves in the corner of your eye and disappears when you turn. I'm fascinated by the ordinary man, or woman, who isn't quite what they seem. I like to see the magic and mystery in every situation and relationship. Life intrigues me and I often find it amusing. When I don't like what's going on in the world, I write another one. Join me.
This entry was posted in Fantasy fiction, Magical mystery fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

