#RomCom First chapter, first draft completed #amwriting #chicklit

Happy to say I have just finished the first draft of the first chapter of my new book.  The working title is The Spring of Life – that may change.

It’s a romcom.  Bit of a change for me, I know. I will be going back to Elliot and Hannah and their world at some point, but in the meantime, read the opening paragraphs of the book I’m currently writing.  I hope you enjoy it. Feel free to contact me!

‘The thing is, Ella,’ Gwynnie leaned in conspiratorially, ‘you earn more than my husband and he’s got a mortgage to pay.’ Gwynnie stood up, moved her Barbie doll body across the room and grasped the door knob, signalling the end of the meeting. ‘It’s just not appropriate,’ she continued, ‘if I give you a pay rise, everyone will want one. And, let’s face it; you have had rather a lot of time off.’

Gwynnie opened the door and waited for Ella to walk through. Ella squeezed past Gwynnie and the two exchanged gritted teeth smiles. Ella could see the remnants of Gwynnie’s macrobiotic lunch nestling along her bottom gum line. Good, thought Ella.

‘I love these one-to-ones,’ Ella said as they walked back to the main office. ‘Such a good opportunity to get to know each other.’ Ella had given up arguing all the right and just reasons why she should be paid more. Instead she took pleasure in watching Gwynnie stroking her hair flat in an attempt to stop its natural curl winning the frizz battle – a losing battle. Ella allowed herself to delight in that.

I’ll be publishing the opening paragraphs of chapter two next week, so follow my blog so you don’t miss it.

And, if you haven’t already tried them, check out my free short stories. (They’re nothing like this, or my two books).

About cjmorrow13

I love to write about everyday life as though viewed side on - I like to catch the object which moves in the corner of your eye and disappears when you turn. I'm fascinated by the ordinary man, or woman, who isn't quite what they seem. I like to see the magic and mystery in every situation and relationship. Life intrigues me and I often find it amusing. When I don't like what's going on in the world, I write another one. Join me.
This entry was posted in RomCom, Women's fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #RomCom First chapter, first draft completed #amwriting #chicklit

  1. Jackie Keefe says:

    Very ‘scratch your eyes out’ ish if you know what I mean! Looking forward to the finished book.

  2. cjmorrow13 says:

    It is. But that opening line was actually said to me – quite a few years ago. I just couldn’t waste it. The main character, Ella, is feeling very hard done by and angry initially.

Leave a Reply

