#SummerSolstice – it’s here again – already?!

Stonehenge solstice

There’s something magical about the summer solstice. Maybe it’s the long day, the short night, or maybe it’s something else.

Here in the UK we are enjoying lovely weather – let’s hope it lasts all day and evening, because if it does, the solstice will be amazing. Who can resist the mysterious pull of a crimson sunset or the promising allure of a sparkling sunrise?

Every year people gather at ancient stone circles to celebrate. Here in Wiltshire we’re lucky enough to have two major stone circles: Stonehenge – world wide famous, and Avebury, reputedly even older than Stonehenge. Our ancestors understood the power of the sun, aligning the giant stones perfectly.

If I have one whinge about the summer solstice, it’s this. After today it’s all downhill… the days get shorter and the nights get longer. But, on the brightside it’s not too noticeable for a while.

Avebury sunsetIf you’ve read my books, particularly the first one, The Finder, you’ll know how important the solstice and stone circles are in Elliot and Hannah’s story.

Here’s a snippet:

We line up along the cliff’s edge and wait. As the sun starts to move down on the watery horizon a hush descends among the crowd. I watch the sun as it moves quickly down into the water, I half expect it to sizzle, because here anything is possible, but it doesn’t. Just as the sun disappears Gabriel whispers in my ear to close my eyes, but before I do I glance around to ensure that everyone else is closing theirs. Then I wait, not sure what to expect.

The short, sharp wind that blows over me smells of sunshine, hay, lavender, roses, jasmine, in fact, every flower I ever knew the name of, and honey and there’s even a hint of Granny Pastry in there. Then it stops and I open my eyes, I am smiling, I feel happy. I see that everyone else is smiling too, so this is why the blind come.

‘What was that?’

Gabriel’s voice is quiet and thoughtful when he answers. ‘Some say it is the past, some say it is the future, some say it’s what we have lost, some say it’s what we wish for.’

‘And what do you say?’

‘I say it is whatever you want it to be.’ He pats me on the back.

Have a good one – may the sun shine.

About cjmorrow13

I love to write about everyday life as though viewed side on - I like to catch the object which moves in the corner of your eye and disappears when you turn. I'm fascinated by the ordinary man, or woman, who isn't quite what they seem. I like to see the magic and mystery in every situation and relationship. Life intrigues me and I often find it amusing. When I don't like what's going on in the world, I write another one. Join me.
This entry was posted in Fantasy fiction, Kindle, Magical mystery fiction, Women's fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #SummerSolstice – it’s here again – already?!

  1. cjmorrow13 says:

    Reblogged this on CJ Morrow – the inside stories and commented:

    Here we are, are year on and all is as it should be. The birds sing, the sun shines – between showers – and the solstice is upon us.

Leave a Reply

