#British #RomCom Chapter Ten, first draft #chicklit Read an excerpt now #amwriting

‘It’s called The Spring of Life and I can’t sell it.’kiss

‘Spring of Life. Perfect.’

‘I can’t sell it. I can’t profit from it. I have to respect it. Anyway, I think, at least I hope, that I won’t need the income.’

‘We could put you and your Teletubby friends on the label. That could be its USP.’ He chuckled to himself.

‘Its what?’

‘Unique selling point. Differentiate you from the rest of the market; they’re all about mountain springs, freshness, natural.’ Hal nodded his head from side to side, considering his idea, then smiled to himself. ‘I think we should seriously consider that one. Or, wait, I’ve just had another idea – your fetching little frog outfit, you could wear that on the label.’ He paused for a moment. ‘Mmm, maybe not, that might suggest pond water.’ He laughed.

Ella laughed too, nudged him in the ribs to let him know she knew he was teasing her.

Then he grabbed her, pulled her close, held her head in his hands, looked straight into her eyes. She blinked. He smiled, a kinky, sexy, one-sided smile that made her go weak at the knees. Then he kissed her, hard, long and utterly compellingly. Ella joined in as wholeheartedly as she could, but the voice in her head was telling her she looked a mess and dind’t smell very nice.

He pulled away and Ella looked down; she felt embarrassed. She had fantasised about kissing Hal, but in her dreams she was wearing a slinky dress, heels, her favourite perfume, not a stinky boiler suit. She glanced at him, his immaculate clothes, his gorgeous smell.

‘Come on, let’s get you home and cleaned up’ he said, confirming what Ella was feeling. ‘Then what about dinner? We could make a night of it, I know a great little club, only an hour’s drive.’

Ella smiled at him. ‘Dinner sounds great. I’d love that. But I’ve got an early start tomorrow, back here with the cavalry.’

‘Why do you call them that, do they have horses?’

‘No. It’s what they call themselves; it’s just sort of caught on.’

He nodded, he didn’t look amused or particularly interested. ‘Okay, just dinner.’

This is a first draft, so is subject to change and please excuse any errors.

Missed excerpts from previous chapters? Check them out here.

I’ll be publishing an excerpt from a new chapter next week – follow my blog so you don’t miss it.

And, if you haven’t already tried them, check out my free short stories.  And, if you like a little paranormal/mystery/romance and general British weirdness, try The Finder and The Illusionist.

About cjmorrow13

I love to write about everyday life as though viewed side on - I like to catch the object which moves in the corner of your eye and disappears when you turn. I'm fascinated by the ordinary man, or woman, who isn't quite what they seem. I like to see the magic and mystery in every situation and relationship. Life intrigues me and I often find it amusing. When I don't like what's going on in the world, I write another one. Join me.
This entry was posted in RomCom, Women's fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

