Latest excerpt from #RomCom Chapter 14 The Spring of Life #chicklit #comedy

goat

Ella used the bathroom and wondered if it was too early to use Walt and Edna’s shower or maybe she could boil a kettle and have a strip wash. Urgh. It was too cold for that.

She found her frog onesie among the clothes hanging on the rail Nathan had put up the day before and pulled it on, then went downstairs.

She tried the light switch – hurray the electricity was back on – then filled the kettle. She had a box of cereal in the cupboard and some milk, UHT because she had no fridge. She made breakfast and sat at her dining table, Nathan’s idea to put it at the front was a good one, she could see out into the lane, see the other cottages. It felt strange. She owned Spring Cottage, it was hers.

‘You’d love this place, mum,’ she said, looking up at the ceiling then letting her eyes fall on her mum’s boxes. Nathan had stacked them neatly in two piles in the corner. She’d have to make a start on those at some time.

Three loud knocks on the kitchen door made her jump.

‘Nathan?’ she called out, jumping up to greet him.

The knocks came again.

She called Nathan’s name, he didn’t reply. Why would he come round unannounced anyway. She shook her head.

The knocks came again.

‘Who’s there?’

This time there were four knocks.

‘Who’s there?’

Five knocks.

She ran to the window and pressed her face against the glass but she couldn’t see anything, the door was round the corner.

She ran upstairs, found her handbag in the bathroom and pulled her phone out. She rang Nathan’s number.

‘I think the goat’s back,’ she yelled without even saying hello.

‘Right. Okay.’

‘Have you just woken up?’ Ella heard the accusatory tone in her voice.

‘It’s six am. It’s Sunday.’

‘Oh. Sorry. But he’s knocking on my door.’ She ran down the stairs. ‘Listen’ The knocking was now incessant.

‘Don’t open it.’

‘I won’t. But what can I do? He won’t go away. It’s driving me mad.’

‘Yeah. I know how he feels.’

‘What?’

‘I’ll come round. Give me ten.’ He ended the call.

The knocking didn’t stop.

‘What do you want?’ Ella shouted through the door. ‘Go away.’

This is a first draft, so is subject to change and please excuse any errors.

Missed excerpts from previous chapters? Check them out here.

I’ll be publishing an excerpt from a new chapter next week – follow my blog so you don’t miss it.

And, if you haven’t already tried them, check out my free short stories.  And, if you like a little paranormal/mystery/romance and general British weirdness, try The Finder and The Illusionist.

Follow me on Twitter

Or Facebook

 

About cjmorrow13

I love to write about everyday life as though viewed side on - I like to catch the object which moves in the corner of your eye and disappears when you turn. I'm fascinated by the ordinary man, or woman, who isn't quite what they seem. I like to see the magic and mystery in every situation and relationship. Life intrigues me and I often find it amusing. When I don't like what's going on in the world, I write another one. Join me.
This entry was posted in RomCom, Women's fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

