Latest excerpt from #RomCom Chapter 16 The Spring of Life #chicklit #comedy

‘What are you going to do in here?’ Sam said, spinning around the kitchen.angry face

‘I haven’t decided yet,’ Ella said, a bit too sharply. ‘I mean, I’ve got to think about it.’

‘Are you doing it, Nath?’ Charlie said.

Nathan shrugged, exchanged a furtive look with Charlie and didn’t speak.

‘Are you not playing music at all now?’ Sam asked.

‘Yeah. I play down our local, The Giddy Goat. I’m there most Saturday nights, playing my own stuff.’

‘We’ll have to come and watch you, when we’re not playing ourselves.’

‘That’d be fun, Ella, wouldn’t it?’ Sam waited for Ella’s reply.

All Ella could think of, besides the dead goat was that shitty song. ‘Yeah. Amazing fun,’ she said, without any attempt to hide her contempt.

‘Come on you,’ Charlie said, putting his arm around Sam. ‘Let’s get you home. You’re supposed to be taking it easy.’

‘Nathan’s leaving too now, aren’t you,’ Ella spat.

Nathan didn’t acknowledge her comment, just wandered alongside Charlie chatting to him and Sam.

The four of them stood in the lane, Sam and Ella hugged, Charlie and Ella hugged, Nathan and Sam hugged, Nathan and Charlie did the handshake thing again. Nathan smiled at Ella, Ella glared at Nathan.

‘I’ll message you,’ Charlie said to Nathan. ‘Sort out a date.’

 

This is a first draft, so is subject to change and please excuse any errors.

Missed excerpts from previous chapters? Check them out here.

I’ll be publishing an excerpt from a new chapter next week – follow my blog so you don’t miss it.

And, if you haven’t already tried them, check out my free short stories.  And, if you like a little paranormal/mystery/romance and general British weirdness, try The Finder and The Illusionist.

Follow me on Twitter

Or Facebook

 

About cjmorrow13

I love to write about everyday life as though viewed side on - I like to catch the object which moves in the corner of your eye and disappears when you turn. I'm fascinated by the ordinary man, or woman, who isn't quite what they seem. I like to see the magic and mystery in every situation and relationship. Life intrigues me and I often find it amusing. When I don't like what's going on in the world, I write another one. Join me.
This entry was posted in RomCom, Women's fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

