Sunday 21 December – Winter #Solstice in the UK

Sunday sees the shortest day – hurray – daylight increases after that! The official solstice occurs at Decemberfullmoon cropped 21, at 23:03 (11:03 pm) in the UK (according to the website timeanddate.com).

In the middle of England where I live, we don’t usually have romantic snowscapes at this time of year – we have sludgescapes, great grey days when the sky is so low you could almost reach up and touch it. That’s why I welcome the winter solstice, because it’s the turning point, the path to spring, the gateway to new growth and new life, more daylight and hopefully more sunshine, and warmth, I love warmth.

I’m grateful I don’t live even further north, where daylight is now in very short supply. When I went to the Arctic Circle in July this year it was the land of the midnight sun, now it’s the land of the midday moon. However spectacular that may be it is not something I would relish.

Rejoice, rejoice, spring is just around the corner and before that we have Christmas. I’m lucky enough to have a long break over Christmas and it’s when I do excessive guilt-free reading, indulging myself with lazy afternoons on the sofa, a stack of books by my side and a tin of chocolates handy – too handy.

The turn of the year is always a time for reflection – the ifs, the buts, the what-could-have-beens, the if-onlys. But I’m looking to the future, my new book, a romantic comedy, comes out in February/March.

If you’ve read my books, The Finder and The Illusionist, you’ll know how important the winter and summer solstice are in the lives of my characters. And if you haven’t read them, what are you waiting for? Escape into a world without rules or laws, only expectations. Magic.

Enjoy the solstice and Christmas and the coming year and, of course, reading. And to my fellow authors in #IndieBooksBeSeen, keep flexing those writing muscles.

Here are some interesting facts about the winter solstice: http://www.timeanddate.com/calendar/ten-things-december-solstice.html

 

About cjmorrow13

I love to write about everyday life as though viewed side on - I like to catch the object which moves in the corner of your eye and disappears when you turn. I'm fascinated by the ordinary man, or woman, who isn't quite what they seem. I like to see the magic and mystery in every situation and relationship. Life intrigues me and I often find it amusing. When I don't like what's going on in the world, I write another one. Join me.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

