What’s in a title? I need some help #romcom

The final edit of my romantic comedy is currently being proofed and the cover is being created, so now I need some help.ID-100174447

Currently the title, or should I say working title, is The Spring of Life. But – there’s always a but – I’ve had some feedback from my beta readers: THEY DON’T ALL LOVE THE TITLE.

One said, ‘it’s okay.’

Another said, ‘it’s fine.’

Another said, ‘it sounds like something religious.’ It’s not.

I’ve had some suggestions for alternative titles:

  • Bedsits, Bitches and Sleaze Weasels
  • Ella and the Sleaze Weasels
  • Smug Marrieds and Sleaze Weasels
  • How to catch a Sleaze Weasel

You can see a common theme here – sleaze weasels do feature in the book.

The story is about 27 year old Ella who’s had a tough time lately:

  • Her mum’s recently died
  • She’s been cheated out of a promotion at work
  • Her bitchy new boss is a Barbie doll who models herself on Gwyneth Paltrow
  • She’s living in a horrible bedsit
  • The hot guy upstairs thinks she’s an idiot in a Kermit onesie

Now’s she inherited a shabby, run down thatched cottage in some hick village with a bunch of conditions attached…. Some excerpts are available here.

ANY HELP APPRECIATED.

Image from freedigitalphotos.net

 

About cjmorrow13

I love to write about everyday life as though viewed side on - I like to catch the object which moves in the corner of your eye and disappears when you turn. I'm fascinated by the ordinary man, or woman, who isn't quite what they seem. I like to see the magic and mystery in every situation and relationship. Life intrigues me and I often find it amusing. When I don't like what's going on in the world, I write another one. Join me.
This entry was posted in RomCom, Women's fiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

