Blame it on the Onesie – zero to top 100 in eight and a half weeks

WCJ Morrow Blame it on the Onesieell, where do I start? Blame it on the Onesie – my romantic comedy about work, water and wine has surprised everyone – especially me. Published on 27 June it climbed up the Amazon UK chart and hit the top 100 on 25 August, just under two months after publication. And I’m delighted to say that a month later, it’s still there. At the time of writing this it is number 29 in the Kindle UK store and number 1 in Romantic Comedy.

I loved writing Onesie, I fell in love with the characters, especially Nathan, and I was able to draw on many amusing work situations. Readers have written to tell me of similar experiences they’ve had in the workplace and people are giving me stories and situations for inclusion in my next romcom. It seems we all know annoying work colleagues – and lovely ones too.

Onesie was almost finished by March 2015, but publication was delayed for three months due to serious ill health in my family. So when the button was finally pressed it was late June and only a week before I went on holiday. Imagine my delight to see it already beginning to climb when I came back two weeks later. What makes this all the more exciting is that I am an Indie Author – that means no support from a publishing house, agent or a marketing budget – though fortunately I do have supportive family and friends.

I’ve appeared in our local newspaper and been on BBC radio – I am the proverbial legend in my own lunchtime.

What next? I have started writing my next romcom. Work will feature, so will romance, inevitable misunderstandings and there will be bitchiness – because life is like that (well, mine is anyway). Sadly it will be next year before it’s ready, but in the meantime, if you’ve read Onesie and enjoyed it, why not try my first book, The Finder. It’s not a romcom, but it is fun and magical (no swords or sorcery, I promise).

And if you have any funny work related anecdotes that you wouldn’t object to seeing in print – contact me. I picked up an amusing idea just yesterday at work; a colleague was eating soup and had added chilli flakes making it a bit too hot. It made her lips fizz and swell a little. Out of that came the phrase chilli trout pout – I’ll be using that in my next book; I even know which character it will happen to.

Happy reading.

About cjmorrow13

I love to write about everyday life as though viewed side on - I like to catch the object which moves in the corner of your eye and disappears when you turn. I'm fascinated by the ordinary man, or woman, who isn't quite what they seem. I like to see the magic and mystery in every situation and relationship. Life intrigues me and I often find it amusing. When I don't like what's going on in the world, I write another one. Join me.
This entry was posted in Kindle, RomCom, Women's fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blame it on the Onesie – zero to top 100 in eight and a half weeks

  1. sarah says:

    Absolutely loved it! Hooked all the way through! did not want it to end. Thank you! 😘

  2. Joyce Gill says:

    Hi I loved blame it on the onesie didn’t want it to end. Looking forward to the rest of your books. Thank you for two days of relaxation xx

  3. Erika says:

    Really enjoyed Blame it on the onsie. A mixture of real life and magic. Will there be a more adventures of Ella in her cottage to come?

    • cjmorrow13 says:

      Hi Erika – Thank you so much. So many people have asked this question that I think there will be… but it’s unlikely it will be this year. If you like real life mixed with magic try one of my other books – THE FINDER mixes these two elements, although it isn’t a romcom, but there is romance… and a lot of weird magic.

Leave a Reply

