Mermaid Hair and I Don’t Care – excerpt from chapter 2 #romcom

beach-devon‘What you need is a holiday. Right now.’ Tessa picked up Lily’s iPad and starting searching for holidays.

Lily nodded. She felt numb. They were sitting among the debris of a takeaway pizza that Tessa had brought with her and eaten most of – Lily seemed to have lost her appetite.

‘Where do you fancy?’

‘Nowhere on my own.’ Lily inhaled through her nose, filling her lungs, determined that she wasn’t going to cry anymore. ‘I can’t believe he’s done that to me. Just sodded off like that. He’s already gone. He messaged me from the airport. He’s even changed his What’s App photo to a map of the USA.’

‘Yeah,’ Tessa said her tone suggested that she didn’t mean yes at all. ‘Here’s one, Cornwall. Beautiful quaint village just five minutes walk from blue flag beach. That sounds nice.’

‘Will and I went to Cornwall once. It rained the whole time.’

‘Not Cornwall,’ Tessa said, swiping the page away. ‘Devon. Ever been there?’

‘No.’ Lily shook her head slowly. ‘He must have booked extra holiday; he only had two weeks booked off and he’s away for four. But he said he only knew about it the day before.’

‘Didn’t waste anytime then, did he?’ Tessa said, pushing the iPad at Lily. ‘Look at this one. Looks nice.’

‘Yeah. It does.’

Tessa snatched the iPad back and began to read out the description. ‘Idyllic one bedroom character cottage, electric shower, country kitchen. Just ten mins hike from excellent surfing beach. Available now due to cancellation. There’s a phone number. Sounds good. Shall I ring?’

‘I don’t really want to go away on my own,’ Lily whined.

‘You won’t be on your own. Weren’t you listening to me last night when you rung me at midnight? I said I’d get some time off and I have.’

‘Oh. Okay. Yeah. Good.’

‘So shall I ring them?’ Tessa sounded as though she was irritated with Lily now.

‘Yes please,’ Lily said, pulling herself up on the sofa and straightening her shoulders. ‘Sod him.’

Ten minutes later the deed was done, credit cards had been flashed and two weeks in Devon beckoned.

‘Better start packing,’ Tessa said, laughing. ‘We’re going tomorrow. I’ll drive so you don’t even have to worry about that.’

‘Great. Thank you.’

‘Try to sound a bit more enthusiastic.’ Tessa leaned over and patted her friend’s knee. ‘Come on, it’ll be fun. Just you and me doing girly things like we used to.

About cjmorrow13

I love to write about everyday life as though viewed side on - I like to catch the object which moves in the corner of your eye and disappears when you turn. I'm fascinated by the ordinary man, or woman, who isn't quite what they seem. I like to see the magic and mystery in every situation and relationship. Life intrigues me and I often find it amusing. When I don't like what's going on in the world, I write another one. Join me.
This entry was posted in RomCom, Women's fiction, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

