Christmas, dark days and bright lights

xmas-tree

It’s that time of year again – the dark, dull days of December. Still dark at 8am and twilight fast approaching by 4pm. After the long, warm summer we’ve had the darkness seems to have crept up suddenly.

Thank goodness for Christmas! We so need the bright lights and jollity now. Not to mention the day itself to look forward to. Whether it’s Christmas carols or boozy parties, there’s usually something to uplift everyone.

December, for me, is always a time of introspection. Maybe it is for most people, maybe that’s why New Year resolutions are so popular, though I gave them up years ago.

2016 has certainly been a momentous one for me. The biggest and best change has been the arrival of two new babies in our family – six months apart, they’re simple adorable.

The strangest, and I’m very happy about it, has been my move from day job to full time writing. It was something I’d wanted for a long time. I published my first book, The Finder, in 2013 followed by The Illusionist in 2014, but it was my third book, Blame it on the Onesie that became a runaway hit, spending two glorious months in Amazon UK’s top 100.  By December last year I was starting to think that maybe, just maybe, I could give this writing lark a chance and go full time. Then fate lent a hand and my crappy employer (sorry, I know it’s Christmas, goodwill and all that, but they are a crappy employer), made me redundant. Perfect timing and I haven’t looked back.

So where am I now? The Sister, a novella in the Stonehaven series is due out in January and then I’ll be starting work on my next full length novel – something completely different!

I’m lucky, I know that, especially with all the horrible things going on in the world – let’s pray for the poor souls in Aleppo, men, women and children trapped in a warzone. In the words of John Lennon: Happy Christmas – War is Over

A very merry Christmas
And a happy New Year
Let’s hope it’s a good one
Without any fear

About cjmorrow13

I love to write about everyday life as though viewed side on - I like to catch the object which moves in the corner of your eye and disappears when you turn. I'm fascinated by the ordinary man, or woman, who isn't quite what they seem. I like to see the magic and mystery in every situation and relationship. Life intrigues me and I often find it amusing. When I don't like what's going on in the world, I write another one. Join me.
This entry was posted in Rantings, Women's fiction, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

